View Other Items in this Archive | View All Archives | Printable Version

            The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session at 9:00 a.m. with all members and the County Clerk present.


            The monthly department head meeting was held with the following in attendance: Ron Lofland, Transfer Station Manager; Don Button, Emergency Management Coordinator; Todd Hampton, City/County Building Official; John Crosby, Fire Chief; Ramon Clinesmith, Noxious Weed Director; Nancy Ramski, Civic Center Building and Grounds Manager; Rita Gee, Treasurer; Sherry Thompson, Health Department Administrator; Tom Kramer, Road Foreman; Frank Goldsby, Public Works Administrator; Mary K. Sullivan, Register of Dees; and Lance Babcock, Sheriff.


            Gene Schwein made the motion to approve the minutes of the January 20, 2004 meeting and the claims against the various funds of the county. Madison Traster seconded the motion. Following clarification of several vouchers, the motion passed unanimously.


            Anita Mason, RRISK, presented an update on that program. She explained that they no longer have funding for the teen years issues. She invited the commissioners to the annual meeting.


            Rita Gee, Treasurer, presented an update on the county’s investments. Discussion was held on the proposed law that would require the treasurer’s office to collect all sales tax from motor vehicle sales in Kansas.


            Sherry Thompson, Health Department Administrator, gave an update on her department.


            Tom Kramer, Road Foreman, and Frank Goldsby, Public Works Administrator, discussed road work for 2004. Mr. Kramer requested permission to take bids on road material in all three grades for sealing 26 to 33 miles of road. The commissioners approved his request. Mr. Kramer was also authorized to solicit bids for a road crack-filler. Seven road-crossing permits were reviewed and approved for OXY USA, Inc.


            Nancy Ramski, Civic Center Building & Grounds Manager, and Frank Goldsby, Public Works Administrator, met with the board. Mrs. Ramski said they are planning to fix up the Tot Lot this year. She said she would like her staff to paint the rodeo facilities and replace some of the seating and fix up the concession stand. She would like to utilize the rodeo grounds and facilities for horse and other animal shows.


            Lance Babcock, Sheriff, gave an update on his department.


            Safety Committee Members, Sherry Thompson, Mary K. Sullivan, Loy Henderson, Tom Kramer and Randy Grubbs met to discuss responsibilities of the safety committee. Carl Eyman, KWORCC, visited via telephone conference. The commissioners will discuss some of the information and decide what type of policy to implement regarding accidents.


            Scott Nichols, Chamber of Commerce Manager, telephoned and asked about the possibility of having a circus at the fairgrounds in September. Mr. Nichols said he is going to get with Ron Lofland at the transfer station to make sure the waste removal is handled correctly. The commissioners saw no problem with the circus as long as Bit & Spur agrees to the location. Mr. Nichols informed the commissioners that on March 29 there is going to be a Western Kansas Congressional Reception in Washington, D. C. He asked if a commissioner would like to attend the reception. The commissioners declined his invitation.


            Douglas Campbell, County Attorney/Counselor, met with the commissioners. Gene Schwein made the motion to recess into executive session for 15 minutes to discuss legal issues that are covered by attorney client privilege. Madison Traster seconded the motion and it passed unanimously. After 15 minutes the meeting continued in open session.


            Madison Traster made the motion to approve a 1.9% COLA increase to part time employees who work on a regular basis. Carl Higgs seconded the motion and it passed. A copy of the increases is attached as part of this record.


            The commissioners adjourned to meet again in regular session on February 17, 2004.


Linda McHenry, County Clerk                                      Carl Higgs, Chairman