Tag Department

Tag Renewals & New Tags

The Grant County Treasurer’s Office is an agent for the State of Kansas for registering and titling motor vehicles. We issue license plates upon receipt of proper documentation and submission of the correct fees. The fees include registration fees, personal property taxes, title fees, and sales tax, if applicable. Each year the state sends out courtesy reminders six weeks prior to the expiration date of the license plate. Renewal Notices may be reprinted on-line at the following web site http://mvs.dmv.kdor.ks.gov/PrintRenewals/. It is a state law that a current insurance card is presented at the time of registration. Grant County handles the initial titling of vehicles, as well as the annual renewals.

Once a vehicle is purchased, the new owner has 60 days from the date of purchase to bring their documentation into our office to be processed without penalties. If the purchase is an out-of-state title, the owner of the vehicle needs to have a vehicle identification inspection completed. This is done at the Grant County Law Enforcement (210 E. Central) for a charge of $20.00 (cash only). Inspections are done upon request and any questions concerning inspections can be answered by calling the Law Enforcement Office at 620-356-3500. The license plates in Kansas expire based on the first letter in the last name of the first person on the title.

                                                                                                                                                                                                     Renewal Dates                                                                                                                                                                                                 

Last Name Begins With Tax Expires at Midnight On 
AFebruary 28 (or 29)
BMarch 31
C-DApril 30
E-F-GMay 31
H-IJune 30
J-K-LJuly 31
M-N-OAugust 31
P-Q-RSeptember 30
SOctober 31
T-V-WNovember 30
U-X-Y-ZDecember 31

Renewals on Heavy Trucks (16,000 lbs or more) and Non RV Trailers are issued beginning January 1 through the end of February (penalties will apply for renewals issued after this date).